Sunday, May 20, 2018

GCR Schedule Changes

A couple of changes have taken place to the schedules for GCR1 and GCR2.

On GCR1, we've added the daily 2-minute English news bulletin from Radio Sweden. This will air Monday to Friday at 11 PM Eastern/8 PM Pacific. Radio Sweden's in-depth weekly program remains Mondays at 2:30 AM Eastern/Sundays at 11:30 PM Pacific.

We've replaced The Adam Ritz Show on Sundays at 6:30 PM Eastern/3:30 PM Pacific with Global 3000, the audio of a weekly series from DW Television which we feel still translates well to radio. Global 3000 is "the Globalization program", presenting stories of interest from around the world. Listeners who enjoy DW Radio programs World Link and World in Progress should definitely check out Global 3000. We're sorry to drop The Adam Ritz Show, as it came highly recommended to us by one of our community radio colleagues. Unfortunately, it appears no new shows are forthcoming in the series, and most of the older episodes are time and date sensitive. At GCR, we prefer to air fresh, new content whenever possible.

There may be more changes coming to our Sunday evening schedule later this Summer. So please check back often for the latest schedule details.

On GCR3, we've had to drop our back catalog airings of Compact Discoveries. The host and producer of this excellent series, Fred Flaxman, passed away in 2015. His account on Box.com, where we had been getting the shows, was abruptly closed without notice to us. We have no other way to access these episodes, unfortunately. Consequently, we're also dropoing "The Concert", in order to make room for a new two hour live performance series. From here onward, we will present Music Mountain, a series of live chamber music performances from the Music Mountain festival which takes place each year in Falls Village, Connecticut. We will air be airing programs from past seasons of the festival when we are not running the current season of concerts.

As always, thank you for your understanding as GCR strives to bring new and interesting content to its partner stations and their listeners.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.