Sunday, September 30, 2018

Several Changes to GCR Program Schedules

At Global Community Radio, we strive to bring our partner stations and their listeners the best mix of programming from around the world. We are constantly listening to the feedback of our partner stations and their listeners to determine the best programming strategies going forward. It is because of this feedback that we're making several changes to our program schedules.

There are two minor changes to the GCR1 schedule. Production of Truthdig Radio has become very sporadic. So we are replacing it with a new weekly series, Progressive Spirit, which discusses both spirituality and social justice. This program will now be heard Mondays at 9PM Eastern/6PM Pacific. On Fridays at 11AM Eastern/8AM Pacific, The Steve Pomeranz Show has been reduced from 59 minutes to 29 minutes weekly. We are adding a new financial advice show, Ask Peggy About Your Finances, with host Peggy Doviak, to fill the second half of the hour.

The bigger changes concern the two music streams.

GCR2 is adding a two hour block of novelty and comedy music Tuesdays at 11PM Eastern/8PM Pacific. Crazy College will move over to GCR2 from GCR3, followed by The Fun Zone with Byron Lee. The Deuce Radio Show and Independent Music Show will shift to 1 and 2 AM Eastern. Cat Beast Party shifts to Sundays at 5PM Eastern.

GCR3 is making big changes to its lineup. We will continue to offer Old Time Radio weeknights at 10PM Eastern. However, we are shifting our late night OTR programming from weekends to weeknights. Old Time Radio Classics, Same Time, Same Station, Upstate Radio Theatre and Treasures Old and New From ART will all be heard during the week. Tuned to Yesterday will continue to air, but will be cut back to airing Tuesday and Thursday evenings. We are adding several new Classical music programs, including two from KGNU community radio in Boulder, Colorado. On the Jazz front, we're making changes to our Saturday Jazz programming, including moving Down the Road, a weekly showcase of New Orleans music to GCR3, as well as adding new modern Jazz programs late into the night on Saturday.

In the days to come, all program schedules will be updated as we update and rebuild our automation logs. Again, these changes are all being made based on responses to questions posed to our partner stations and listeners. You, too, can submit your feedback about GCR any time by sending e-mail to globalcommunityradio@gmail.com.

Thanks for listening!

Jason Longwell
GCR Station Manager

No comments:

Post a Comment

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.